Oregon photo location tips wanted

Where are the good places to shoot in Oregon? Where is the highest concentration of good photo shoot locations in Oregon?

I’d like to take a vacation there someday, soon, and I’m sure photography will be a big part of that vacation. Also, taking naps, seeing the stars, listening to the ocean, and doing as little as possible will be on the agenda.

I’d love to find a place where I can rent a cheap an inexpensive cabin and be within two or three hours drive time of:

  • pacific coast
  • lighthouses
  • waterfalls
  • glass-smooth lakes
  • lush forest
  • notable geographic locations
  • historic locations
  • panoramic vistas
  • great sunset/sunrise views

I don’t want much, do I? 😉 It’s hard, because I get the impression that the entire state is photo-worthy and awe-inspiring. What I don’t want to do is spend all day driving, that would suck. So please, leave a comment. Ask your photo-geek friends to leave comments. I’d love to hear your suggestions and ideas. If you’ve ever been to Oregon, what sights took your breath away? What would you like to see hanging on your living room wall, or in your calendar in the kitchen?

 

I just want need a solid week of peace, quiet, and inspiration. Ok, ok, OK! Fine! You want the truth? Pushing 40 is scary! There, I said it. Are you happy? I mean, what have I done with my life? What am I doing to reach my dreams? Nothing! I’m letting life get in the way of living, and that needs to stop. I need a reset button, and I hear they have them in Oregon. And Scotland. And Italy.

 

Gee, I didn’t realize how much I need a vacation.
This entry was posted in Story.

7 comments on “Oregon photo location tips wanted

  1. Jason says:

    Hey Kevin,Came across your blog from the CO Strobist group on Flickr. Very nice touch here and you’ve got some great captures under your belt too. As for the vacation, with #39 hitting me next week, and as a fellow “IT guy”, believe me when I say I can empathize!Sorry I don’t have any Oregon photo tips for you, but I can say that Scott Bourne from over on This Week in Photography (www.twipphoto.com) lives in that area. He apparently is quite well know for his avian photography. He also seems to be pretty personable most of the time too. I bet if you made a post over there (he moderates the comments), asking for suggestions, he would respond positively.

  2. Kevin says:

    Hi Jason,Yeah, that’s an excellent idea. I follow TWIP as well – I even entered his contest (http://floggingkevin.com/2008/10/05/workshop-photo-contest/).Thanks for the support!

  3. Jason says:

    Cool – did you enter the most recent one to win a Drobo?

  4. Kevin says:

    I sure did. Feel free to vote for me if you like. 🙂

  5. Curtis says:

    Just sent you an email with some of my thoughts on the place (I lived in Portland for 2 years).

  6. Greg Vaughn says:

    Hi Kevin,Your blog post popped up as possibly related when I posted on my blog about my new book, “Photographing Oregon”. If you haven’t already done your Oregon trip, this should certainly help. http://gregvaughn.wordpress.com

  7. Kevin says:

    Thanks Greg! I haven’t gone yet, I’m in a casual research mode now. I will certainly check out your book.

Leave a Reply

