Micro Four-Thirds

I’m very intrigued by the new Micro Four-Thirds format. The design ideas make good sense, and there’s no inherent aspect of the design that I can see that would dictate the image quality not being able to match today’s DSLR in the range of a Nikon D80 or Canon XTi, if not something more like a Canon 40D or Nikon D300.

The Panasonic Lumix G1 is a great first example, it seems. And stuff like this (search for “0.95”) make this seem like a killer backup camera / wife camera / mature child camera. If my kids continue to show interest in photography, I could see getting something like this for them at age 10 or 12.

Do you find the Micro Four-Thirds format interesting?

2 comments on “Micro Four-Thirds

  1. Jason says:

    I did initially, but the reality is that when you buy into a camera system, it’s just that, a system. Perhaps if Canon/Nikon converters were available it might be a good secondary system to get on a budget…

  2. Kevin says:

    If I understand correctly, there’s a lot of Olympus lenses out there that would work, in addition to what appears to be a way to mount Leica or Zeiss lenses. I wouldn’t buy it expecting it to be a Canon or Nikon, but I am curious to see if it carves out its own niche.If I could afford it, I’d have a 5D Mk II with a set of L lenses, a D3 & D3X combo with a set of nice Nikon lenses (including tilt-shift!), and some Olympus gear too. And a Leica, and a Mamiya DL28 kit, one of those rediculous RED Epic/Scarlet DSMC rigs …. 🙂

Leave a Reply

