Tethering in Lightroom … with LiveView!

If you have Adobe Photoshop Lightroom and have ever wanted to have a large live view of what your camera is seeing as you shoot, you no longer have to pony up a medium-size bucket full of cash for Nikon Camera Control Pro 2. Run, don’t walk, over to http://www.mountainstorm.co.uk/photography/Tether-Overview/Tether-Overview.html and download the latest version of Studio & Lightroom Tether.

The software is a combination of a native app (StudioTether) that talks to your camera, and a Lightroom plugin which talks to StudioTether. The plugin session window displays the camera’s current exposure settings and has a shutter button to capture an image. That’s all wonderful, especially when combined with Lightroom’s auto-import feature. But that’s not the kicker, as far as I’m concerned. Click the little triangle under the shutter speed and the window will open to a LiveView session (if your camera is supported and you are using LiveView on the camera at the time).

I’m in heaven. I’ve wanted Camera Control Pro 2 ever since I got the camera, but I never wanted to pay that much for it. Now it’s free – donations are welcome, and I highly recommend doing so!

This entry was posted in Story.

4 comments on “Tethering in Lightroom … with LiveView!

  1. swikar says:

    Hey, I just downloaded version 6 and it works great with my D700! I too wanted Camera Control Pro 2 but was hesitant to buy it since studio tether was in development. the last couple of versions didnt work for me but this one did! stoked.

  2. Kevin says:

    I’m glad to hear that! I hope to get a D700 soon.

  3. memekode says:

    Hey do you know of one for the PC?

  4. Kevin says:

    I don’t recall hearing of anything besides the manufacturer’s software (Canon,Nikon). I know of one other product that does tethering without LiveView, but that one is also for the Mac.

Leave a Reply

