On Creativity

“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist after growing up.” ~ Pablo Picasso

Why is this such a problem?

When I was 5 or 6 I was a clown, a real ham. Then something changed. Was it school? I don’t know. I got shy. Like catching leprosy or something.

It’s more than just playfulness and silliness. Those can be practiced. No, there’s a deeper issue at hand.

It seems to me that true creativity, inspired creation, comes from
the soul. It’s like we get into a zen-like state, sometimes for a moment or sometimes for hours on end, where everything which would silence the voice of the soul has been rendered ineffective. Life itself shines out like light through a keyhole, allowing us to see beyond the door for a moment.

How do we harness the ability to open that door on demand? We need a key. I have no concrete answers, but I do think it starts with being completely in the moment. When you’re not worried about anyone or anything, not thinking about the past or planning or the future, but just soaking up the moment and allowing yourself to be an integral part of that moment.

I’m sitting on a 777 bound for Hawaii, listening to Norah Jones music and watching something on the in-flight TV about lightning. Is that Bob Krist? I’ve caught up on all the Craft And Vision e-books. And I’m wondering if I’ll be creative. If hope is all it takes, it’s sure to be a successful trip, but I know it’s not that simple. Did I send the mortgage payment? D’oh! Oops, I guess this ‘being in the moment’ thing won’t be easy. The best things in life never are.

Aloha!

This entry was posted in Story.

One comment on “On Creativity

  1. Pasquier says:

    Hi, enjoyed visiting your site, reading your review on the Nikkor 16-35mm AFS – which I think is amazing as well – but especially your thoughts on the creative process!Hope you have a fun, enjoyable and creative trip.P:)

Leave a Reply

