Cheap Lenses Can Be Great

Sure, expensive lenses can be wonderful, but they aren’t mandatory equipment. You can make excellent images with the most basic equipment available.

I saw this sunrise and knew I had only a minute or two to grab the shot, so I raced to a hill top safely pulled over to the side of the road and grabbed my camera. All I had was my 50mm f/1.8 II, a.k.a. the “plastic fantastic”, on my camera body. No filters, no tilt-shift, no tripod, just the cheapest lens I could possibly have. So, I set the camera for Automatic Exposure Bracketing, held the camera in a portrait orientation, and took seven bracketed frames of the scene, for 21 total photos. Within a minute, the scene was gone.

Leave a Reply

